Cast your vote for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Posted in: Events, HSF News
Tags: , , , , ,

Voting is now open for this year’s Motor Sport Hall of Fame ceremony, which will return to the spectacular Royal Automobile Club at Woodcote Park on June 7. You can help to decide who will join the 34 greats that have been inducted since 2010 – names such as Mario Andretti, Enzo Ferrari, Sir Stirling Moss Michael Schumacher and Derek Bell.

In the Formula 1 category, Karun Chandhok helped to compile a short list of 12 legends, including fan favourites Gilles Villeneuve, Nigel Mansell and Ronnie Peterson. On the 50th anniversary of their famous DFV engine being introduced, Mike Costin and Keith Duckworth have been nominated, along with former Ferrari mastermind Jean Todt, current technical guru Paddy Lowe and renowned designer John Barnard. Three-time world champion Nelson Piquet joins his former team-mate Mansell on the list, and there are double title winners in the shape of Emerson Fittipaldi and Mika Häkkinen.

From the pre-Formula 1 era of Grand Prix racing comes Bernd Rosemeyer, the hard-charging German who tamed the pre-war Auto Unions like no other, while the list is completed by the late, great Chris Amon – a man who Ferrari’s Mauro Forghieri rated as highly as Jim Clark.

Last year’s inductee Derek Bell supervised the Sports Car contenders, among whom are four names returning from 2016: Pedro Rodríguez, ‘Quick Vic’ Elford, Brian Redman and legendary team boss John Wyer. Fellow Porsche star Jo Siffert is among those added to the short list, as is double Le Mans winner Hans-Joachim Stuck. The man who shared the victorious 962 with Stuck and Bell on both those occasions, Al Holbert, is another contender – as is renowned Team Principal Norbert Singer.

Andy Wallace won on his Le Mans debut in 1988, and was on the podium with Bell in 1995. He’s on the list along with American hero Phil Hill, three times a winner at both Le Mans and Sebring. They’re joined by Bob Wollek and the unforgettable Stefan Bellof.

Valentino Rossi deservedly topped last year’s Motorcycling category, so his place on the short list is taken by legendary marque founder Soichiro Honda. Returning from 2016 are Mike Hailwood and Joey Dunlop, plus an international cast comprising Kevin Schwantz, Casey Stoner, Wayne Rainey, Mick Doohan, Geoff Duke, Freddie Spencer, Kenny Roberts and Eddie Lawson. Britain’s two-time 500c world champion Barry Sheene completes a stellar cast.

And not only can you vote for your favourites, you can be there on the night to rub shoulders with the great and the good of the motor racing world. The prestigious black-tie dinner will be hosted by Jennie Gow, while before the event there will be an H&H auction plus demonstrations of numerous iconic cars and motorcycles on the Captain’s Drive. What’s more the Henry Surtees Foundation is the event charity partner.

To cast your vote:

You can also listen to motorcycle racer Freddie Spencer discussing the 11 motorcycle nominees up for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame here:


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options